We make better drivers and riders
Skills Day Landing page banner

Coronavirus (COVID-19) update:

Due to the unfolding situation with Coronavirus (COVID-19), IAM RoadSmart Trustees have taken the difficult decision to scale back our resources, from Wednesday 1 April 2020.

This page will be updated when the status of events changes. All those who have booked to attend an event that is later cancelled will be given a priority booking voucher for a future event.

We have suspended any further Skills Days bookings until further notice.

A small team is still available to respond to enquiries from our groups, members and customers. In line with Government advice they are all working from home.

Our Trustees and Senior Management Team continue to monitor the situation closely and make decisions that will best protect our future organisational capability based on current Government advice.

Our office in Welwyn Garden City is closed until further notice. We will therefore unfortunately be unable to respond to letter or communications by post at the current time. If you need to contact us, we ask you to use email wherever possible. You may have to wait a little longer than usual for a response, but we thank you in advance for your patience and will answer your query as quickly as we can. Please see our contact page for further details on how to get in touch.

 

CAR AND MOTORCYCLE SKILLS DAYS 2020 DATES ARE NOW LIVE!

 

Motorcycle Skills Day calendar 2020* £149 per rider  (full day: registration opens at 07.45am)

Customers are split into three groups, according to experience. Each customer rides in a small group of no more than four under the close supervision of an instructor. The customer uses their own fully road-legal motorcycle and wears suitable safety clothing.

Thruxton, Hampshire
  • Tuesday 21 April - CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 28 April - CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 19 May - CANCELLED
  • Wednesday 27 May- CANCELLED
  • Monday 15 June - CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 14 July
  • Monday 20 July (ladies day)
  • Tuesday 25 August
  • Tuesday 8 September
  • Monday 21 September
Mallory Park, Leicestershire
  • Tuesday 12 May - CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 2 June - CANCELLED
  • Tuesday 29 September

Croft, North Yorkshire

  • Wednesday 10 June

*Dates subject to change.

thruxon V2

Car Skills Day calendar 2020* £135, using your own car (half day: morning session is from 08.45 - 12.30 and afternoon session is from 13.15 - 16.45)

The customer uses their own road-legal car and is always accompanied by a dedicated instructor while on track.

Thruxton, Hampshire

  • Monday 20 April - CANCELLED
  • Monday 24 August
  • Monday 7 September

Expert tuition in a fun, safe and friendly environment!

 

     

    Throughout our sessions (for both car and motorcycle) we work on:

    Information – vision and lines, head up - eyes on main beam

    Position and steering - how your vehicle position/steering affects your control

    Speed - brake smoothly and progressively

    Gear – be in a responsive gear for the circumstances

    Acceleration – throttle control, plan to be on a positive throttle in bends

    Full control - bringing it all together for the perfect controlled drive/ride

    Skills day v6

    Please read the following terms and conditions before booking your place:

    For more information on our car and motorcycle skills day call our team on 0300 303 1134.